Aurora Health Care Group president appointed to federal committee

Freeman Staff

Oct. 9, 2015

MILWAUKEE — Jeffrey Bailet, MD, executive vice president at Aurora Health Care and president of Aurora Health Care Medical Group, has been appointed to serve on the Government Accountability Organization’s Physician-Focused Payment Model Technical Advisory Committee, according to a Friday announcement.

After a nomination process, Bailet was appointed to the 11-person advisory committee, which will advise the secretary of the Department of Health & Human Services on sustainable Medicare physician payment models.

The committee was established through the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015, a law requiring Medicare to develop a system of value-based reimbursements to health care providers.

“Dr. Bailet’s appointment to the Physician-Focused Payment Model Technical Advisory Committee is a testament to his overall experiences and leadership that have shaped health care in Wisconsin,” said Gerard Colman, Aurora Health Care’s chief operating officer, in a statement. “As a physician leader in one of the largest health care systems in the nation, Dr. Bailet brings a unique understanding of the current reimbursement models and has been instrumental in finding better ways to deliver the best in quality care to our patients. We congratulate Jeff on this well-deserved honor.”

Bailet’s nomination received support from Congressional leaders, advocacy groups, trade associations and other not-for profit health organizations, according to the announcement.