Twin Disc sells southeast distribution territories

Freeman Staff

Oct. 16, 2015

RACINE — Twin Disc, Inc. announced Friday it sold its southeast distribution territories to Great Lakes Power for approximately $4 million. The sale was finalized Sept. 25.

As part of the deal, Great Lakes Power acquired Twin Disc’s distribution rights to sell and service Twin Disc products previously supported by Twin Disc Southeast. Great Lakes Power will continue to operate facilities previously used by Twin Disc Southeast including locations in Jacksonville, Tampa, and Miami, Fla., as well as the newest location in Beaufort, N.C.

In February of this year, Great Lakes completed a similar transaction by acquiring the assets and distribution rights from Twin Disc Mid-Atlantic for approximately $1 million.

“We are pleased to expand our relationship with Great Lakes Power, which has distributed and serviced Twin Disc products since it was founded over 40 years ago. These transactions are part of Twin Disc’s ongoing strategy to focus resources on core manufacturing and product development activities aimed at spurring growth and greater profitability,” said John H. Batten, president and chief executive officer.