DWD: Jobless rate increases for second straight month in city, county of  Waukesha

By Matt Masterson - Freeman Staff

Jan. 29, 2015

WAUKESHA - Unemployment numbers rose for the second straight month in both the city and county of Waukesha during December, but compared with the rest of the state, neither area is falling behind its respective neighbors.

According to monthly data from the state Department of Workforce Development, the unemployment rate in the city of Waukesha increased from 5.1 percent to 5.3 percent, ranking it 15th among the 32 largest cities in Wisconsin. Waukesha County’s jobless rate also increased from 4.1 percent in November to 4.3 percent in December; however, its ranking among the state’s 72 counties actually improved to 15th place.

Both the city and the county closed out last year with unemployment rates well below where they stood at the end of 2013. The city of Waukesha had a 6.5 percent unemployment rate, while the county’s rate stood at 5 percent.

Other cities around Waukesha County fared slightly better last month. New Berlin closed out the year with an unemployment rate of 4.3 percent - down from the 4.4 percent recorded at the end of November - and Menomonee Falls saw its rate drop a similar .1 percent down to an even 4 percent.

The release of the Dec. 2014 local rates came after last week’s release of U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics estimates showing Wisconsin added 7,600 private sector jobs, leaving the preliminary seasonally adjusted unemployment rate for the month at 5.2 percent, the lowest rate since Sep. 2008.