Hartford Chamber presents annual awards


March 2, 2018

Brian Wuest of Hartford, left, smiles as he talks with Dave Christianson of Sussex on Thursday night during the Hartford Area Chamber of Commerce annual dinner at the Chandelier Ballroom in Hartford.
John Ehlke/Daily News

Volunteers and supporters of the Hartford community were honored Thursday night at the Chandelier Ballroom as part of the Hartford Area Chamber of Commerce’s annual dinner.

“This year, we celebrate our 96th year of supporting, promoting and nurturing growth in the Hartford area,” said Chamber Executive Director Scott Henke. “In August, the Chamber Board and the Business Improvement District Board partnered to collaborate in planning and implementing events in our beautiful Downtown. The Chamber assumes the responsibility and control of these events with assistance from the BID.”

Henke called the evening “an opportunity to showcase and promote the successes of our business community.” As attendees entered the building they were greeted with a showcase of products that are made in Hartford. The keynote address was also given by local inventors Rick Fellow and Beth Kuehl, the inventors of the Great Plate, Great Cup and Great Coaster.

Named as 2017 award winners at the dinner were:

June Krueger and Kathy Hostad of the Hartford Food Pantry — Volunteers of the Year. The other nominees included: Christa Gavin of First Bank Financial Centre, Jason Wix and Wendy Smith from Faith & Giggles, Katie Olsen of Tis the Season Holiday Lighting, Lee Ann Boudwine of Support the Troops, Martha Kolins of Associated Bank and Wendy Dulak of Downtown Lights.

Hartford Union High School Administrator Attila Weninger was presented the Rookie of the Year award in recognition of excelling and giving back to the community making Hartford a better place. The other nominees were: Kevin Fulsher of Kept Clean Service, Kayla Gerard of Local Collective and Pete Wiedmeyer of PRW Electric.

Danny and Wendy Dulak received the President’s Award.

The Legacy Award was presented to Shimon Funeral Home, Staffing Support Specialists and First Bank financial Center. The other nominees included: The Chandelier Ballroom, East Side Lumber, First National Bank and Quad/Graphics.

“All three of the winners are celebrating 20 years in business and they all started in the same month in 1997,” Henke said.

Deb Holtan was presented with the Hartford Achievement Award. The award goes to individuals who are dedicated and support the Hartford Community both in business and civic functions. The other nominees were Danny and Wendy Dulak of Second Chance Ventures, Julie Wilk of the Pink Pumpkin Run and Diane Mayer from Salon Effervescence.

Schnorenberg Floor Covering was presented with the Business of the Year Award. The other nominees included: Broan, Lotus Be Well, Mineshaft, Quad/Graphics, Second Chance Ventures and the Shimon Funeral Home.

Before the awards were handed out, Henke described the past year as a busy one for the Chamber.

“Our Chamber has provided leadership to Dodge County’s tourism entity, Discover Dodge and also participated in the HUHS Strategic Plan: 2020 Create Our Future. We have also contributed to the Downtown Revitalization Committee with time, talent and treasure,” Henke said. “This Committee is responsible for the buzz that is happening on Main Street, bringing new businesses, a 60-unit Cobblestone hotel and a renewed investment in our community. But the Chamber’s collaboration doesn’t end on Main Street. In October, the Hartford Area Development Corporation moved into our Sumner Street location creating a Strong alliance for economic development in the Hartford community.

“Your Hartford Chamber continues to use the four pillars — information, development, networking and tourism — to support and nurture growth in the Hartford area,” Henke added.

The 2018 Chamber of Commerce officers include: Past President Tony Andereck of First National Bank, Treasurer Teresa Steger of HED, Vice President Christa Gavin of First Bank Financial Centre and President Heidi Schaefer of SignWorks.